Your cart is empty.

Amik Loves School

A Story of Wisdom

By Katherena Vermette
Illustrated by Irene Kuziw
Series: The Seven Teachings Stories
Imprint: HighWater Press

Categories: Children's Fiction, Values & Virtues, Indigenous, School & Education, Boys & Men
Big Ideas: Contemporary Setting, Diverse and Inclusive Representation, Identity, Social Emotional Learning, Seven Sacred Teachings, Social Justice, Residential Schools
Cultures & Peoples: Anishinaabeg
Indigenous Languages: Anishinaabemowin, Words or Phrases

Interest Age: 3–5
Grade: p–k
Reading Level: Lexile® Framework for Reading: 500L
Paperback : 9781553795230, 24 pages, March 2015
Ebook (EPUB) : 9781553798118, 24 pages, October 2018
Ebook (Mobi) : 9781553798125, 24 pages, November 2018
Ebook (PDF) : 9781553798101, 24 pages, November 2018
Amik Loves School (Paperback) , Kode's Quest(ion) (Paperback) , Misaabe's Stories (Paperback) , Singing Sisters (Paperback) , The First Day (Paperback) , The Just Right Gift (Paperback) , What is Truth, Betsy? (Paperback)

Introduce young readers to the legacy of residential schools with this uplifting story of hope and reclamation.


Amik loves going to school, but when he shares this with his grandfather, he finds out Moshoom attended residential school. At Moshoom’s school, students were forbidden from speaking their language. It sounds very different from Amik's school, so Amik has an idea…

In this heartwarming story, an Anishinaabe child shows his grandfather how his school celebrates the culture that residential schools tried to erase. A pronunciation guide for the Anishnaabemowin words can be found at the back of the book.

Rich in culture and grounded in traditional knowledge, Katherena Vermette’s The Seven Teachings Stories series features themes of love, wisdom, humility, courage, respect, honesty, and truth. Contemporary Indigenous children explore the Seven Teachings of the Anishinaabe through stories of home and family that will look familiar to all young readers in these books for ages 3–5.


Katherena Vermette’s The Seven Teachings Stories series is a collection of books that holds all the qualities children’s literature can have; her tales are educational, joyous, vivid, and have an irresistible cadence. But the stories have something more. Rich in culture and traditional knowledge, Katherena’s series addresses important topics—such as the residential school system—with the very teachings the series embodies: love, respect, courage, honesty, wisdom, humility, and truth.

David A. Robertson, author When We Were Alone