Your cart is empty.

Kode's Quest(ion)

A Story of Respect

By Katherena Vermette
Illustrated by Irene Kuziw
Series: The Seven Teachings Stories
Imprint: HighWater Press

Categories: Children's Fiction, Values & Virtues, Indigenous, Manners & Etiquette, Environment
Big Ideas: Contemporary Setting, Diverse and Inclusive Representation, Identity, Social Emotional Learning, Character Education, Respect, Seven Sacred Teachings
Cultures & Peoples: Anishinaabeg
Indigenous Languages: Anishinaabemowin, Words or Phrases

Interest Age: 3–5
Grade: p–k
Reading Level: Fountas & Pinnell K, Lexile® Framework for Reading: 520L
Paperback : 9781553795223, 24 pages, November 2014
Ebook (PDF) : 9781553798163, 24 pages, December 2018
Ebook (EPUB) : 9781553798170, 24 pages, October 2018
Ebook (Mobi) : 9781553798187, 24 pages, December 2018
Amik Loves School (Paperback) , Kode's Quest(ion) (Paperback) , Misaabe's Stories (Paperback) , Singing Sisters (Paperback) , The First Day (Paperback) , The Just Right Gift (Paperback) , What is Truth, Betsy? (Paperback)

Join Kode as she learns about respect for other people, for the environment, and for herself.


Kode’s class is learning about the Seven Teachings, but she’s still confused about Respect. Kode asks the wisest people she knows for help—her parents, her older siblings, and her grandparents. As each person gives her a different answer, Kode learns about the many different ways we can show respect for other people, for the environment, and for ourselves.

In this story for young readers, an Anishinaabe girl explores what respect means and how to be a respectful member of a community. A pronunciation guide for the Anishnaabemowin words can be found at the back of the book.

Rich in culture and grounded in traditional knowledge, Katherena Vermette’s The Seven Teachings Stories series features themes of love, wisdom, humility, courage, respect, honesty, and truth. Contemporary Indigenous children explore the Seven Teachings of the Anishinaabe through stories of home and family that will look familiar to all young readers in these books for ages 3–5.


Katherena Vermette’s The Seven Teachings Stories series is a collection of books that holds all the qualities children’s literature can have; her tales are educational, joyous, vivid, and have an irresistible cadence. But the stories have something more. Rich in culture and traditional knowledge, Katherena’s series addresses important topics—such as the residential school system—with the very teachings the series embodies: love, respect, courage, honesty, wisdom, humility, and truth.

David A. Robertson, author When We Were Alone