Your cart is empty.

Singing Sisters

A Story of Humility

By Katherena Vermette
Illustrated by Irene Kuziw
Series: The Seven Teachings Stories
Imprint: HighWater Press

Categories: Children's Fiction, Values & Virtues, Indigenous, Siblings, Music
Big Ideas: Contemporary Setting, Social Emotional Learning, Character Education, Empathy, Seven Sacred Teachings, Sharing
Cultures & Peoples: Anishinaabeg
Indigenous Languages: Anishinaabemowin, Words or Phrases

Interest Age: 3–5
Grade: p–k
Reading Level: Lexile® Framework for Reading: 400L
Paperback : 9781553795209, 24 pages, November 2014
Ebook (EPUB) : 9781553798200, 24 pages, October 2018
Ebook (PDF) : 9781553798194, 24 pages, December 2018
Ebook (Mobi) : 9781553798217, 24 pages, December 2018
Amik Loves School (Paperback) , Kode's Quest(ion) (Paperback) , Misaabe's Stories (Paperback) , Singing Sisters (Paperback) , The First Day (Paperback) , The Just Right Gift (Paperback) , What is Truth, Betsy? (Paperback)

Tempers flare between sisters as Ma’iingan learns an important lesson about humility and sharing.


Ma’iingan loves to sing and her family loves to hear her beautiful voice. Her little sister wants to sing just like Ma’iingan, but Ma’iingan doesn’t want her to. As rivalry erupts between the siblings, can Ma’iingan find the humility to share her talent with her sister?

In this relatable story, a young Anishinaabe girl learns to put aside her pride and sibling rivalry to share her love of singing with her sister. A pronunciation guide for the Anishnaabemowin words can be found at the back of the book.

Rich in culture and grounded in traditional knowledge, Katherena Vermette’s The Seven Teachings Stories series features themes of love, wisdom, humility, courage, respect, honesty, and truth. Contemporary Indigenous children explore the Seven Teachings of the Anishinaabe through stories of home and family that will look familiar to all young readers in these books for ages 3–5.


Katherena Vermette’s The Seven Teachings Stories series is a collection of books that holds all the qualities children’s literature can have; her tales are educational, joyous, vivid, and have an irresistible cadence. But the stories have something more. Rich in culture and traditional knowledge, Katherena’s series addresses important topics—such as the residential school system—with the very teachings the series embodies: love, respect, courage, honesty, wisdom, humility, and truth.

David A. Robertson, author When We Were Alone